Unique technology 

Efficient and reliable airborne leak detection
of gas pipelines using CHARM®

How does gas detection work?

CHARM® measures the concentration of methane (the main component of natural gas) in the air and detects any traces of released natural gas. In order to identify traces of natural gas, CHARM® uses the property of chemical compounds to absorb light of certain wavelengths. The Differential Absorption LIDAR (DIAL) method is used for this purpose, whereby the system emits two laser pulses of different wavelengths.

CHARM®-1

In use since:

2008

Aircraft used:

Bölkow BO 105
Certified: since 2008 through the DVGW

Measurement method:

DIAL
Measured medium: Methan
Measurements per second: 100

Scan sector:

7m
Resolution: approx. 1 measurement/m²
Laser beam guidance over pipeline: automatic
Detectable gas emission: 150 l/h

Measuring beam
Light is absorbed by methane

Reference beam
Light is not absorbed by methane

The first wavelength is tuned in such a way that it is specifically absorbed by methane, while the second wavelength is not absorbed. Both light impulses hit the ground and are scattered in all directions. A very small part of the light returns to the system and is detected by an extremely sensitive sensor. The number of methane molecules in the laser path can be determined from the ratio of the light scattered back to the measuring system by both laser pulses. CHARM® performs 100 measurements per second.

CHARM® generates 100 measurements per second, which are distributed along the pipeline in a 7 m wide sector. The center axis of the scan sector is called centerline.

Navigation and automatic beam guidance

In order to determine the exact spatial position of the measuring system, CHARM® is equipped with a DGPS receiver (DGPS: Differential Global Positioning System). To specify the spatial position and movement of the helicopter (yaw, pitch and roll angle, see figure below), an additional inertia measuring unit (IMU) is installed on board. This navigation data is linked with the onboard pipeline database, enabling real-time guidance of the measuring beam to the ground.

Since a helicopter cannot follow the course of the pipeline with centimeter accuracy, ADLARES GmbH has developed a fully automated technology that guides the measuring beam along the pipeline. The scanning head is movable and can therefore compensate the helicopter’s horizontal deviation of up to 50 m compared to the pipeline. The rotation of the helicopter around its longitudinal axis (roll, see figure below) is also compensated this way. The rotation of the scanner in relation to the vertical axis of the helicopter is called the tracking angle.

YAW: DRotation around the vertical axis,
Pitch: Rotation around the lateral axis,
Roll: Rotation around the longitudinal axis

With CHARM®, an automated beam guidance system was developed to offset the numerous issues that arise when flying without a movable scanner. Not least because it is always necessary to fly downwind of the pipeline in order to reliably detect escaping gas that is blown away from the exit point. Yet the gas cloud is further diluted with increasing distance to the exit point, with the concentration consequently decreasing. When a pipeline leak is far away from an area of operation, the gas concentration at the exit point is so low that an increase cannot be measured when there is even the slightest spatial measurement deviation from the exit point. (see figure “Beam guidance downwind of pipeline”).

Helicopter vertically above pipeline

Helicopter with lateral alignment to the pipeline, autotracking keeps the measuring beam over the pipeline

Beam guidance downwind of the pipeline due to the rigid laser beam exit without movable scanner, the measuring beam always measures perpendicularly from the helicopter to the ground

Automatic beam guidance with CHARM®, the movable scanner compensates the roll angle and the distance to the pipeline

A 20° wind variability is normal even with a relatively constant wind direction. This creates another problem, where locating the emission point becomes mere speculation. A 20° deviation of the real wind from the apparent wind can, depending on the distance to the pipeline, lead to a significant misalignment of more than 50 m between the assumed exit point and the actual emission point (see figure on the right).

Relationship between the gas exit point and the gas indication if the wind direction is assumed incorrectly

Even if the pilot manages to consistently fly on the downwind side of the pipeline, without a movable scanning head there is no guarantee that measurements are taken on the correct side of the pipeline. This becomes an issue with pipeline bends – for which the helicopter has to take a turn – as that usually leads to rolling movements of the aircraft about its longitudinal axis. The measuring beam without a movable scanning head is shifted laterally depending on the flight altitude and can thus be directed via the pipeline to the windward side. If gas then escapes from the pipeline, the system can no longer detect it (see figure on the left).

Einzigartige Technologie 

Effiziente und zuverlässige Dichtheitsprüfung

von Erdgasleitungen aus der Luft mit CHARM®

Wie funktioniert die Gasdetektion?

Mit CHARM® wird die Konzentration von Methan, dem Hauptbestandteil von Erdgas, in der Luft gemessen und mögliche freigesetzte Erdgasspuren ermittelt. Um Erdgasspuren zu identifizieren, nutzt CHARM® die Eigenschaft chemischer Verbindungen, Licht bestimmter Wellenlängen zu absorbieren. Hierfür kommt die Methode des sogenannten Differentiellen-Absorptions-LIDAR (DIAL) zur Anwendung. Dabei werden vom System zwei Laserpulse unterschiedlicher Wellenlänge ausgesandt.

CHARM®-1

Im Einsatz seit:

2008

Verwendetes Luftfahrzeug:

Bölkow BO 105
Zertifiziert: seit 2008 durch den DVGW

Messverfahren:

DIAL
Gemessenes Medium: Methan
Messungen pro Sekunde: 100

Scankorridor:

7m
Auflösung: ca. 1 Messung/m²
Strahlführung auf der Leitung: automatisch
Nachweisbare Gasemission:

150 l/h

Messstrahl
Licht wird von Methan absorbiert

Referezstrahl
Licht wird nicht von Methan
absorbiert

Die erste Wellenlänge ist so gewählt, dass sie von Methan spezifisch absorbiert wird, während die zweite Wellenlänge nicht absorbiert wird. Beide Lichtimpulse treffen den Erdboden und werden hier in alle Richtungen gestreut. Ein sehr kleiner Teil des Lichts kehrt zum System zurück und wird mit einem äußerst empfindlichen Sensor detektiert. Aus dem Verhältnis des zum Messsystem zurückgestreuten Lichts beider Laserpulse lässt sich die Zahl der auf dem Lichtweg befindlichen Methanmoleküle ermitteln. CHARM® führt 100 Messungen pro Sekunde durch.

CHARM® erzeugt 100 Messpunkte je Sekunde, diese werden in einem etwa 7 m breiten Korridor entlang der Leitung verteilt. Die Mittelachse des Scankorridors heißt Centerline.

Navigation und automatische Strahlführung

Um die exakte Position des Messsystems im Raum zu bestimmen, wurde CHARM® mit einem DGPS-Empfänger ausgestattet (DGPS: Differentielles Globales Positionierungssystem). Zur Bestimmung der Lage und Bewegung des Helikopters im Raum (Yaw-, Pitch- und Rollwinkel, siehe Abbildung unten) gibt es zusätzlich eine inertiale Messeinheit (IMU) an Bord. Die Verknüpfung dieser Navigationsdaten mit der an Bord mitgeführten Leitungsdatenbank ermöglicht die präzise Steuerung des Messstrahls auf dem Boden in Echtzeit.

Da ein Helikopter dem Leitungsverlauf nicht zentimetergenau folgen kann, hat die ADLARES GmbH eine Technologie entwickelt, die den Messstrahl vollautomatisch auf der Pipeline führt. Der Scankopf ist beweglich und kann somit eine horizontale Abweichung des Helikopters von bis zu 50 m gegenüber der Leitung ausgleichen. Auch die Drehung des Helikopters um seine Längsachse (Roll, siehe Abbildung unten) wird auf diese Weise kompensiert. Die Verdrehung des Scanners gegenüber der Hochachse des Helikopters wird als Trackingwinkel bezeichnet.

YAW: Drehung um die Hochachse,
Pitch: Drehung um die Querachse,
Roll: Drehung um die Längsachse

Mit CHARM® wurde eine automatische Strahlführung entwickelt, da sich ohne beweglichen Scanner zahlreiche Probleme ergeben. Zunächst muss immer in Lee (windabgewandte Seite) der Leitung geflogen werden, um austretendes Gas, das vom Austrittsort weggeweht wird, sicher zu detektieren. Jedoch wird die Gaswolke mit zunehmenden Abstand zum Austrittsort immer weiter verdünnt, die Konzentration nimmt folglich ab. Bei Undichten auf der Leitung abseits betriebswichtiger Punkte ist die Gaskonzentration am Austrittsort häufig so gering, dass bereits bei geringer räumlicher Abweichung der Messung vom Austrittsort keine erhöhten Gaskonzentration gemessen werden kann (siehe Abbildung „Strahlführung im Lee der Leitung“).

Helikopter senkrecht über der Pipeline

Helikopter mit seitlichem Versatz zur Pipeline,
Autotracking hält den Messstrahl auf der Leitung

Strahlführung in Lee der Leitung aufgrund des
starren Laserstrahlaustritts ohne beweglichen Scanner,
der Messstrahl misst immer senkrecht vom Helikopter zum Boden

Automatische Strahlführung mit CHARM®, der bewegliche Scanner gleicht den Rollwinkel und Abstand zur Leitung aus

Eine Variabilität des Windes von 20° ist selbst bei relativ konstanten Windrichtungen normal. Dies führt zu einem weiteren Problem. Die  Verortung des Austrittsortes der Emission wird spekulativ. Eine Abweichung des realen Windes vom angenommenen Wind um 20° kann, je nach Abstand zur Leitung zu einem deutlichen Versatz des angenommenen Austrittsorts gegenüber dem tatsächlichen Emissionsort von mehr als 50 m führen (siehe Abbildung rechts).

Selbst wenn es dem Piloten gelingt permanent auf der windabgewandten Seite der Leitung zu fliegen, so ist ohne beweglichen Scankopf nicht sichergestellt das auch auf der richtigen Seite der Leitung gemessen wird. Dies ist insbesondere bei Leitungsknicken der Fall, an denen Kurven geflogen werden müssen. Denn wird mit einem Helikopter eine Kurve geflogen, führt dies in der Regel zu Rollbewegungen des Helikopters um seine Längsachse. Der Messstrahl ohne beweglichen Scankopf wird dabei abhängig von der geflogenen Höhe seitlich versetzt und kann damit über die Leitung auf die Luvseite (windzugewandten Seite) gelenkt werden. Tritt nun Gas aus der Leitung aus, kann dies vom System nicht mehr erfasst werden (siehe Abbildung links).